Date: 22nd November 2016 at 12:02pm
Written by: have now announced the candidates for their Team of the Year 2016 and there are plenty of familiar names to choose from.

In total, 374 players have been nominated across the years and the 2016 edition features a final selection of 40 players from across the European leagues.

Voting is open on until January 3, 2017.

The 40 man shortlist is as follows:

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid) Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon).

Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hostspur) Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonnuci (Juventus), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Pepe (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid).

Joe Allen (Stoke), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Grzegorz Krychowiak (PSG), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Paul Pogba (Man Utd), Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal).

Sergio Aguero (Man City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Man Utd), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Barcelona).

A number of those players have featured across the years, and have crunched a few key statistics and specifically listed the new entrants.

Total different players nominated:

Total players selected in final XIs:

Most nominated player:
Cristiano Ronaldo 13 (2004-2016) – seven as midfielder, six as forward

Most nominated goalkeeper:
Gianluigi Buffon 9 (2002-2006, 2012, 2014-2016), Iker Casillas 9 (2001-2002, 2004, 2007-2012)

Most nominated defender:
Philipp Lahm 10 (2004, 2006-2014)

Most nominated midfielder:
Andres Iniesta 7 (2008-2012, 2015-16), Steven Gerrard 7 (2001, 2004-2009), Arjen Robben 7 (2004-2005, 2008, 2010-2011, 2013-2014), Cristiano Ronaldo 7 (2004-2010)

Most nominated forward:
Lionel Messi 11 (2006-2016)

Most selected player in final XI:
Cristiano Ronaldo 10 (2004, 2007-2015) – five as midfielder, five as forward

Most selected goalkeeper:
Iker Casillas 6 (2007-2012)

Most selected defender:
Carles Puyol 6 (2002, 2005-2006, 2008-2010)

Most selected midfielder:
Andres Iniesta 5 (2009-2012, 2015), Xavi Hernandez 5 (2008-2012), Cristiano Ronaldo 5 (2004, 2007-2010)

Most selected forward:
Lionel Messi 7

Players with most total nominations:
Cristiano Ronaldo 13
Lionel Messi 11
Zlatan Ibrahimovic 10

Players with most previous final selections:
Cristiano Ronaldo 10
Lionel Messi 7
Andrés Iniesta, Sergio Ramos 5

New nominees for 2016:
Keylor Navas, Jan Oblak, Rui Patricio, Toby Alderweireld, Raphael Guerreiro, Juanfran, Joshua Kimmich, Laurent Koscielny, Joe Allen, Yannick Carrasco, N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez, Dimitri Payet, Aaron Ramsey, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang