Date: 24th April 2012 at 10:53am
Written by:

Following Sunday`s announcement that Robin van Persie had won PFA Player of the Year for 2011-12, the Dutch striker has again been recognised for his Herculean season by winning the 2011-12 Football Writers` Player of the Year. The 28 year old Arsenal captain won by a landslide, with Wayne Rooney lagging behind in second, Paul Scholes getting the lovey duvvy sentimental vote in 3rd place with Fulham`s Clint Dempsey finishing in 4th.

The award, which has been running since 1948, will be presented to the Arsenal striker at a gala dinner at the London Lancaster Hotel on May 3rd. FWA chairman Steve Bates, chief football writer at The People said: “Robin was the overwhelming choice of our members this season and deservedly so after a magnificent campaign for Arsenal.

The quality of his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season for The Gunners has been eye-catching.

‘The considerable size of his majority in the votes cast by our members reflected the general view that he has been the season’s most outstanding individual performer

Van Persie joins Joe Mercer, Frank McLintock, Dennis Bergkamp, Robert Pires and Thierry Henry (x3) as winners of the award. He becomes the third Arsenal player to win the PFA and Football Writers` award in the same season, after Dennis Bergkamp (1997-98) and Thierry Henry (2002-03 and 2003-04) previously managed the feat. Robin has enjoyed a phenomenal season having bagged 34 goals in 50 appearances so far, taking in goals against 17 of his 19 Premier League opponents.