Date: 27th May 2017 at 9:53pm
Written by:

One of the major talking points from yesterday’s FA Cup Final between Arsenal and Chelsea was the manner of Alexis Sanchez’s opening goal on the day.

With Aaron Ramsey stood in an offside position and making some motion towards the ball before Sanchez picked it up and slotted it in the back of the net, Assistant Referee Gary Beswick lifted the flag leading to confusion for many.

After a short talk with Referee Anthony Taylor, he pointed to the centre circle and awarded the goal.

They key thing is despite the backlash, it was the right decision.

FIFA do not deem a motion towards the ball as being ‘active play’ as he didn’t obstruct anybody in the process and nor did he actually touch the ball and with the change to the offside rule a few season’s ago from the International Football Association Board (IFAB) simply being offside is no longer an issue as we all know.

Without a clear action of interfering with play, no offence takes place and Ramsey at no point was classed under the rules as being in ‘active play’ so no unfair advantage was gained.

Both clubs made an attempt to clarify the goal and the decision although it appears Chelsea’s understanding of ‘clearly offside’ needs a little bit more work.









Arsenal Blogger
Join The Vital Debate